The Lost Hero || Book Review || Demigods, angry winds, a captured Goddess, Monsters and LEOOOO!!!

Caution! This review is basically me fangirling over how amazing and perfect and pure Leo Valdez is!

So I finally read a book. I low key forgot what it felt like to read a book because I hadn’t read a book for I don’t even know how many days. Also exams were there so you can’t blame me.

So this is actually a reread review. I read this series first back in 2016(and my opinions have changed a bit) and I haven’t touched these books since then. Not that I do not like them. But I just couldn’t find time for them. But this year I decided to read them and review them here.

ughhhhh not again

GOODREADS SYNOPSISTLH BR

Jason has a problem.
He doesn’t remember anything before waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper, and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly?
Piper has a secret.
Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare about his being in trouble. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits during the school trip, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out.
Leo has a way with tools.
When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about, and some camper who’s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god. Does this have anything to do with Jason’s amnesia, or the fact that Leo keeps seeing ghosts?
THE LOST HERO BY RICK RIORDAN WAS PUBLISHED ON OCTOBER 12th, 2010 BY  DISNEY- HYPERION BOOKS.

       REVIEWWWWWW

My brain literally can’t think of anything because I read this book in intervals because of my exams.

The Lost Hero is the first book in the Heroes of Olympus series and before starting this series, it is recommended that you read Percy Jackson and the Olympians series first. 

CHARACTERS

So we had three main character Jason, Leo and Piper. And this book is written in three different POVs of these characters. 

Jason is kinda the main character. Not gonna lie but when I first read the series I was literally fangirling over Jason. But after rereading this I felt that Jason was an okay character. I found him kinda bland. But he had amnesia so I guess it was because of that. But he was good at almost everything and gosh he was shown as the perfect guy which I did not like at all. Personally I felt that Jason didn’t actually have any flaws unlike the other characters.

Piper! I was trying so so hard not to hate her while reading the book but she was always after Jason. Sure Piper’s much more braver than me and can fight but it felt like all she wanted was Jason and nothing else. And she was acting as if she owned Jason which made me reach a decision that I definitely do not like Piper as much as I want to. But Piper’s backstory was definitely interesting.

LEO!! My love! I’ll try and not be biased towards him but Leo was definitely my favourite character. Like this was the first time when I actually laughed while reading a book. I found Leo’s backstory the most interesting. And Leo’s that type of character who always seem very happy on the outside but are actually broken from the inside. And I LOVE these type of characters. I felt like Leo’s character was the only one which I could connect to. He was funny, sarcastic and straight up the showstopper of this book.

WRITING STYLE

I think everyone knows that Rick Riordan is the best when it comes to writing humour. And boy, this book made me laugh so many times. And he would include these funny/sarcastic lines in the middle of the most tense moments. For example take this line-
“Jason summoned his golden lance. He brandished it over his head and yelled, “Giant!” Which sounded pretty good, and a lot more confident than Leo could’ve managed. He was thinking more along the lines of, “We are pathetic ants! Don’t kill us!”

Like you can’t get any cooler than this. But overall the writing style of this book was relatable and I feel that most of the children of this generation will be able to relate to it.

PLOT

The plot of this book was pretty simple. Demigods — Quest — Monsters — Death — Party!!

But it’s so cool that Rick Riordan writes in such a way which will make you fall in love with mythology. Like who could think that a bunch of old Greek Gods could be this cool.

But along with that I sometimes felt that some things came to the characters way too easily. Like if they were stuck in some problem they could get out of it easily. So basically, Rick made it way easy for his character to solve their problems.

So I don’t know under which category I should put this but this book had certain diverse characters and it also showed the problems they had to face and almost all the characters had ADHD or dyslexia.

 

 

D I S L I K E S

There weren’t a lot of things which I disliked. Mainly –

  • Piper’s character – She was way too attached to Jason and at one point it got very irritating.
  • Info – dumps – Now I understand that this is the first book of the series and Rick has to explain a lot. But all this information, which we already know, made the book kinda boring and slow.
  • Things Were way too easy – Sure I can’t fight monsters but as I already said some things were way too easy for the characters.
  • MY LEO WAS THIRD-WHEELING!! – Like sure Jason and Piper are cool but that doesn’t mean that you’ll always leave Leo. Like, give Leo the attention he deserves.

FINAL RATING – 4 STARS

Star rating - 4

ughhhhh not again

I thoroughly enjoyed this book but I would have enjoyed it better if it wouldn’t have been for my exams. There wasn’t much of a mystery in this book so it wasn’t like I was shocked while reading this book.

Also, was I the only one who wasn’t affected by Percy’s disappearance?

Comments heheh

Have you read The Lost Hero? Did you like it? Or did you not? Do you love Rick Riordan’s books? Were you sad because Percy wasn’t in this book? Do you love Greek mythology? Tell meeeeee!!

❤ aDiTi

10 thoughts on “The Lost Hero || Book Review || Demigods, angry winds, a captured Goddess, Monsters and LEOOOO!!!

  1. OMG I absolutely LOVE PJO, HOO & ToA! Rick Riordan is one of my favourite authors! It’s suchhhh a good series! Also it was one of my first fandoms so I adore it!!! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yesss I do so love this one! All of Riordan’s books are HILARIOUS and wonderful.😍 And Leo is the most precious and perfect of them all absolutely YES. I agree Jason was a bit bland. 😂 And I read the whole series SO fast that they’ve kind of all blurred for me and I have no idea what happened in which book, but they’re definitely still some of my favourites!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WE NEED TO SAVE LEO!!! But Rick Riordan’s books are like so funny. Probably the only author who can make me laugh. I myself didn’t remember anything because there were so many characters in this book. These books are going to stay with me for a long time.

      Like

  3. I absolutely ADOREEEE Rick Riordan’s books–well, only the books from the PJO world, TBH. The Lost Hero was my second least favorite of the series (The Blood of Olympus was the one I liked the least), because Percy wasn’t in it, but I really appreciated Leo as a character, too, and he really didn’t deserve to act as a third wheel! And Jason was definitely bland. :/

    – Aimee @ Aimee, Always

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the Blood of Olympus was my second favourite but I haven’t read it in a while so it can all change. I might be the only one who didn’t mind Percy’s absence. Because when I read it, I read it in a hurry and I don’t think I paid attention to anything. Jason, I don’t know what to say about him. He’s an okay character but Piper kept like whining for him and that just made me dislike them both. Thanks for reading ❤

      Like

  4. Heyyy how did I miss this post??
    I’m very, VERY embarrassed to admit that I haven’t read Percy Jackson *hides away from the rotten tomatoes*. But I have read Kane chronicles, the series on Egyptian mythology (because Egyptian mythology and mummies in general fascinate me. Call me weird).
    But PJ is right on my TBR list, after I finish Kane chronicles. You should try out Kane chronicles, IT. IS. AMAZING.
    Great review Aditi! : D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow I wanted to read Kane Chronicles because it’s written by well Uncle Rick.
      And read Percy Jackson *doesn’t throw the book at you but places it next to you*
      And also read Heroes of Olympus trust they’re all wonderful.
      Yeah Egyptian mythology DOES sound interesting.
      Thank you so much for reading, Shreya ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment