6 Month Blog Anniversary (pfftt not a big deal) // Reading and Reviewing my old posts.

So I am not sure if my 6 month blog anniversary was on the 21st, 22nd, 24th or the 28th.

I know that most people call blogoversary I guess but I just find it difficult to spell so blog anniversary it is.

So wordpress tells me that this is my 60th post AND my 6 month anniversary so yes I am the symmetry queen*. But apparently this thought struck me that since I don’t have any post ideas for this month what better way than to look at my cringy and maybe a lot more “professional” posts.

I know it’s waaaay too early to do a post like this but who knows I’ll probably write this kind of post every 6 months** (??)

But let’s get started although I am really scared.

*I don’t know what symmetry is?? Sorry but it’s my school’s fault

**Sounds like a lot of work so probably no.

ughhhhh not again

O C T O B E R  2 0 1 7

FIRST BLOG POST

Date published – October 22, 2017

Excerpt I personally love reading books. They are great companions when you are sad or even when you are happy. And after reading, I just like to think about them and figure out what this world is out of these books. So I decided to review them on here so if you are planning to read them, you know at least something about them. I love fantasy and sci-fi novels especially.

Thoughts – Soooo….why do I feel that I copied this from a book on cheesy lines. But jokes aside I feel like I didn’t know what I was talking about in this post. Because I don’t think that I like sci-fis actually that much. And I used like waaaaay too many so(s) in this post.

I got like 1 to 2 comments on this post and I don’t think that I actually cared about it that much because at that time I just wanted to write, write and write.

SITA: WARRIOR OF MITHILA // BOOK REVIEW

20171023_155849
ft. my really bad skills when it comes to photography (and it still hasn’t changed)

Date published – October 23, 2017

Excerpt – All the characters were really well developed and I wanted to read the story from the point of view of all the side characters.

One thing I hate about this book is its ending. The ending was totally unexpected, it came out of nowhere. The cliffhanger aaahhhh.

This book had its ups and downs, the beginning could have been better, but nevertheless, I really enjoyed reading this book and I can’t wait to read all the other books.

Thoughts – I freaking published this the next day so I must have been pretty excited. But this was my first review. Well not exactly because I had published a book review on the Hunger Games trilogy somewhere (I don’t know where though) but I deleted that some time later.

The thing is…..I don’t know what I am talking about here. Like I use the word “developed” but in reality I didn’t know what it means and I still don’t know. Not to mention that I don’t actually remember anything about this book. But I think that my way of writing reviews has changed.

N O V E M B E R  2 0 1 7

FANGIRL // BOOK REVIEW 

Fangirl
I tried my hands at graphics for like the first time.

Date Published – November 15, 2017

Excerpt – And then coming to the star of the book, Simon Snow. Simon Snow is like the Harry Potter of this world. Cath writes fan fiction about it and there are certain excerpts from the Simon Snow series and Cath’s fan fiction which sometimes interrupted my flow of reading. I found them a bit annoying. I would have liked the book a bit better if they had been avoided but I guess since they were an important part of Cath’s life, they had to be included

ThoughtsSo this was one book review where I actually knew what I was doing. I changed my style of reviewing. And I have to say that I was very lenient with this book.

I started reviewing books with the help of lists and honestly that list made it more difficult. I got about 8 comments on this post and that’s a lot seeing that this was my second month of blogging and I still get excited even when I get 1 comment.

I actually wrote this review in a hurry because I had school the next day. I was really scared because I didn’t want to say anything wrong and hurt people’s feelings.

TOP 5 TUESDAY // TOP 5 REASONS WHY I BLOG

Date published –  November 21, 2017

Excerpt –  Relaxation- I find blogging really relaxing. It’s like after having a really stressful day, you can finally relax and spend some time with your keyboard. I seem to forget all my problems while I am blogging which is a good thing to do in this stressful life of ours.

Thoughts – I wrote this post like a day before. I used to take part in bookish memes but now I don’t think I would because it just gets tough to generate a post every week. I like my pace of blogging right now. Where I can post whenever I want to. But T5T did make my blogging journey very enjoyable.

But I didn’t even double check this post nor did I spend any time in like making it look presentable(??)

D E C E M B E R  2 0 1 7

Twelve Ideasfor Celebrating the Twelve Days of Christmas (11)
I legit used this same graphic for 25 days and now I am just bored with it.

TYPES OF READING SLUMPS I EXPERIENCE

Date published – December 14, 2017

Excerpt – The I-know-what-to-read-but-don’t-have-that-book Reading Slump – This is the reading slump I am currently stuck in. I know exactly which book I want to read but I don’t have that book nor can I buy it because I am on a book-buying ban. So yeah, this reading slump sucks.

Thoughts – So I think this was the time when I started writing Blogmas posts and if I look back I don’t think I would ever take part in Blogmas because even though I was posting “consistently”, the quality of my posts wasn’t that good. This was one of the post which I really enjoyed writing. But since I had to post everyday I used to keep on doing tags something which I don’t find enjoyable.

But this was the post where I realized that maybe I should branch out(??) and write more than Book Reviews. 

TIME OUT – ‘I’M SORRY, HOW DO YOU PRONOUNCE YOUR NAME?’

Twelve Ideasfor Celebrating the Twelve Days of Christmas (18)

Date published – December 21, 2017

Excerpt – Let’s take Hermione (from Harry Potter series) as an example. Now any Potterhead out there would be like, ‘pfft, this is easy to pronounce.’ And yes, I know this is easy to pronounce. But the young eleven year old me didn’t know that. I remember when I started reading this series, I pronounced Hermione as Her-me-oh-knee. I guess Victor Krum and I were twinning, but seriously how is one supposed to pronounce Hermione. I was pretty sure I was pronouncing it right, when my sister brought me back down to Earth.

Thoughts – You know what? I’m really proud of this post. This was my first discussion post and I loved writing it. And to be honest I love the way I’ve written it. It’s way better than how I write now. I had been thinking about this post for a long time and I finally decided to write a discussion post on it.

Again I wrote it in a hurry. But I really liked writing it and I think that I should write more posts like this. Although this post seems short, but when I was writing it, it felt longer.ughhhhh not again

So this post was basically me looking at my old posts and seeing how and in what ways my writing style and I have changed. As much as I am trying not to cringe at these, if it hadn’t been for these posts, I wouldn’t have been here (okay, I’ll give this speech when I win an Oscar). This was a really great way of looking at how things have changed. I know that this post was boring but if you’ve read it…THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING!!

ughhhhh not again

Also I wanted to say thank you to everyone who follows me, likes my posts and takes time to read them. I never actually thank you all and that makes me feel very selfish, BUT THANK YOU SOOOOO MUCH. 

Also special thanks to all the people who read/liked/commented on my last post. You all made me feel a lot better. AND THANK YOU FOR PROTECTING ME. I’LL PROTECT YOU ALL TOO!! Because this friendship is not one-sided (okay I need to stop watching Bollywood movies)

Comments heheh

Do you ever feel like reading your old posts? Do you feel that your writing style has changed a lot? If you could change something about your old posts, what would it be? Tell meeeeee!!

❤ aDiTi

29 thoughts on “6 Month Blog Anniversary (pfftt not a big deal) // Reading and Reviewing my old posts.

  1. Congratulations on six months!
    If I could change something about my old posts… I would just entirely rewrite them. Too cringy. 😆

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations with your blogiversary (ok blog birthday then)! I hope you don’t think I’m crazy but when I see that people read an older post in the overview of that day I often start reading my own post again :-). I don’t think my writing style has changed a lot from the beginning, I’m always slow in changing my ways… it looks a bit better though with a few titles I made and such in my reviews. I think you’re quite severe in judging yourself though, I think all of your posts are nice! Keep going like you’re doing!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much!! ❤ ❤ (don't know what to call it myself either) but NO that's not weird at all. Reading your all posts is actually a great thing. Like you get to see how far you've come and all. Gee I know I was severe. But it's just that I am never satisfied with whatever I do and I seriously need to change that habit of me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY, ADITI! (did I spell that right??)
    According to me you’ve done pretty amazing with this blog so far, and ALSO given the fact that you’re still in school. You’re going places, girl! : D
    We all cringe when we see our old posts don’t we? I cringe a bit too much (please never go and check my first post. I think I would die of embarrassment. I want to delete them but I am weirdly attached to them).
    Also you’ve read Fangirl too? Isn’t it amAZING?!!!!
    I liked your review of Sita. I don’t read much Amish but I think I should start.
    And we’ll all protect each other! ; )
    Keep blogging and keep smiling, Aditi! : D

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Aww thank you so much Shreya ❤ ❤ YOU'RE WAAAAY TOO SWEEEET!!
      I don't know how to spell it either so really I'm not the best person to ask.
      Yeah, I think everyone will cringe when they see their first post. I don't know but it just seems like I was trying waaaay too hard in my first post. (also can't promise that I won't read your first post *insert that creepy smirk emoji*)
      YES FANGIRL IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! I LOVE IT ❤ ❤
      Yeah, Amish's books are good but I'm only reading that series because I'm rooting for Bharata and Radhika. I think that's her name. ( Wow I felt weird saying that.)
      YAAS WE'RE THE PROTECTION SQUAD!!
      Thank you thank you thank you so much ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh happy 6 months of blogging!! *cheers and busts out the cake because why not* 🍰🍰 And honestly I cringe at the very THOUGHT of my old posts haha! I’ve been nearly going for 7 years so you can imagine how bad my posts were at one stage lol lol. You’re doing great and I hope there are many and many more super awesome months and years of blogging ahead!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yaass CAKE!! ALSO THANK YOU SO MUCH ❤ ❤ I feel everyone would die of cringeyness if they were made to sit in a room and were told to read all of their first posts. And WOW!! 7 years is along time. Thank you so much, Cait ❤ ❤

      Like

  5. I read your first blog post, and it’s not THAT bad… I didn’t cringe LOL
    My first post is pretty cringe-worthy LOL

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh thank you! Yeah, I agree. For some reason, knowing that I wrote my first post makes me want to cringe more… LOL

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment